Innovate Blog
Bunzl Catering & Hospitality Division’s Joanna Gilroy wins BusinessGreen Sustainability Executive of the Year Award.

Monday July 10, 2017

On 28 June, Joanna Gilroy, Head of Sustainability at Bunzl Catering Supplies, won the Sustainability Executive of the Year award at the BusinessGreen Leaders Awards.

Held at The Brewery in London, this award recognises the individual who has delivered the greatest improvements in environmental performance and helped to make sustainability central to their company’s overall strategy.

Now in their seventh year, the BusinessGreen Leaders Awards are considered the biggest sustainability awards in Europe. They celebrate businesses, executives, entrepreneurs, investors and campaigners from across the green economy, highlighting how these pioneers are driving the emergence of innovative and sustainable new business models and technologies.

Joanna was singled out from the other nominees because of her passionate advocacy of environmental transformation, and for working tirelessly to embed sustainable best practices within Bunzl Catering Supplies. The judges were particularly impressed by her approach to working collaboratively across the industry and its value chain, to tackle the complex environmental challenges faced by the packaging and hospitality sectors.

Throughout her time at Bunzl Catering Supplies Joanna has pioneered an open, collaborative approach to finding solutions for packaging waste in the catering and hospitality industry. By building strong partnerships throughout the industry, from manufacture to disposal, Joanna has been instrumental in developing new credible, transparent and cost-effective waste solutions for our customers.

Speaking after the awards Joanna Gilroy said, “This award is very much an achievement for the whole business. To be recognised in this way would not have been possible without the incredible support and commitment I receive from my colleagues across the business. Our sustainability achievements so far have very much been a team effort and so I feel that this award is for us all.”

Matt Johnson, Managing Director at Bunzl Catering & Hospitality Division, attended the event with the nominees and partner suppliers, and comments “At Bunzl Catering & Hospitality Division we work closely with our people, our customers, our suppliers and other forward-thinking organisations, to innovate sustainable solutions that reduce impact on the environment. Joanna Gilroy has been instrumental in leading change through collaboration. Bringing people and expertise together, Joanna has championed a sustainable mindset in the business that ensures we are making hospitality happen for a more sustainable future.”

The Marketing Team were also nominated for the BusinessGreen Marketing Campaign of the Year award, narrowly missing out to social enterprise Hubbub Foundation.

The full list of winners were:

Marketing/Advertising Campaign of the Year

Hubbub Seasonal Food Waste Campaigns

Fast Track Company of the Year

POD Point

Employee Engagement Campaign of the Year

Hill+Knowlton Strategies’ Do Nation campaign

Consultancy of the Year


Circular Economy Project of the Year

AECOM – Major Infrastructure Resource Optimisation Group

Ecosystem Project of the Year

The Crown Estate and Ecology Masterplan

Renewable Energy Project of the Year

SEaB Energy’s waste-to-energy technology solution for NHS

NGO of the Year

Carbon Tracker Initiative

Manufacturer of the Year

Greenvale AP

Green PR Company of the Year

Barley Communications

Green IT Project of the Year

UK Power Networks – Flexible Urban Networks – Low Voltage Project

Sustainability Report of the Year

HEINEKEN International’s 2016 Reporting Suite

Green Infrastructure Project of the Year

Camborne Energy Storage Limited

Green Transport Project of the Year

UPS Rolling Laboratory

Energy Efficiency Project of the Year

Schoolhaus at Redmoor Academy

Young Sustainability Executive of the Year

James Piper, Ecosurety

Sustainability Executive of the Year

Joanna Gilroy, Bunzl Catering Supplies

Sustainability Team of the Year

UK Power Networks’ Innovation Team

Politician of the Year

Sadiq Khan, Mayor of London

Small Business of the Year

POD Point

Leader of the Year

Dr. Susie Tomson

Entrepreneur of the Year

Arthur Kay, CEO and Founder, bio-bean

Innovation of the Year

Limejump – Virtual Power Plant

Company of the Year


Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

Christiana Figueres