Innovate Blog
Bunzl Catering & Hospitality Division headline sponsor of The Cateys 2018

Thursday May 31, 2018

Bunzl Catering & Hospitality Division are delighted to announce that we will once again be partnering with The Caterer to headline sponsor The Cateys 2018, an event that is considered the Oscars of the hospitality industry.

Now in its 35th year, The Cateys have become firmly established as a celebration of all that’s great in UK hospitality. This year the glamorous awards show will be taking place at Grosvenor House in London, on the 3 July 2018 and will showcase innovative brands and trail-blazing people from across hotels, restaurants, foodservice and pubs & bars.

As well as headline sponsorship, Bunzl Catering & Hospitality Division will also be sponsoring two individual award categories: Hotel of the Year – Group and Restaurateur of the Year – Group.

Last month more than 100 judges, chosen for their expertise and industry knowledge, met at London’s Dorchester hotel for three days of intense debate to discuss the nominees, produce a shortlist and select the winners.

Included on the judging panel was our very own Austen Bushrod, Head of Business Development, Bunzl Catering Supplies. Austen commented: “I’m delighted to have represented Bunzl Catering & Hospitality Division as a judge for The Cateys 2018. Working alongside some of the best from the industry, we had a tough but rewarding 2-day session deciding on the ultimate winners, who were chosen from such an exceptional group of entries.”

Bunzl Catering & Hospitality Division managing director Matt Johnson said: “Bunzl Catering & Hospitality Division are delighted to once again be headline sponsor of The Cateys 2018. As well as being the headline sponsor we will also be sponsoring two individual award categories: Hotel of the Year – Group and Restaurateur of the Year – Group. The Cateys are the biggest awards of their kind in the hospitality industry and they recognise individuals and businesses who are the highest flyers.”

Chris Gamm, Editor of The Caterer added: “I’m delighted to again be working with Bunzl Catering & Hospitality Division as headline sponsor of The Cateys 2018. As two brands that work with, support and help grow some of the industry’s biggest and most successful operators, Bunzl Catering & Hospitality Division and The Caterer are a brilliant fit to host the most recognised and respected awards in the UK hospitality industry.”


Best Employer, sponsored by Procure4

City District

Cycas Hospitality

Firmdale Hotels

Red Carnation Hotels


Best Marketing Campaign


The Ned, London

The Refuge, Principal Manchester


Best use of Technology, sponsored by Bookatable

Casual Dining Group


Cheval Residences

Dine Delivered

Imperial London Hotels


Chef Award, sponsored by the Craft Guild of Chefs

Paul Ainsworth, No 6, Padstow, Cornwall

Claude Bosi, Claude Bosi at Bibendum, London

Nathan Outlaw, Restaurant Nathan Outlaw, Port Isaac, Cornwall

Peter Sanchez-Iglesias, Casamia, Bristol

Andrew Wong, A Wong, London


Education and Training Award, sponsored by Bidvest

Tim Foster, The Yummy Collection

Gordon McIntyre, City of Glasgow College

Kellie Rixon, Rixon Associates

Leon Seraphin, Beyond Food Foundation


Foodservice Caterer Award, sponsored by Zenith Hygiene

Tony Beales, Beales Gourmet

Daniel Gill, Dine

Patrick Harbour and Nathan Jones, Harbour & Jones

Chris Mitchell, Genuine Dining Group


Health and Nutrition Award, sponsored by CH&Co Group

Craig Hancox, Amadeus

Brad Pearce, CATERed

Amy Roberts, Holroyd Howe

Gabriella Roberts, BaxterStorey


Hotel of the Year – Group, sponsored by Bunzl Catering and Hospitality Division

Bovey Castle, Dartmoor, Devon

Ham Yard hotel, London

The Ned, London


Hotel of the Year – Independent, sponsored by Sky

Glenapp Castle, Ballantrae, Ayrshire

The Stafford London

The Torridon, By Achnasheen, Wester Ross

Yorebridge House, Bainbridge, North Yorkshire


Manager of the Year, sponsored by Amadeus

Gareth Banner, The Ned, London

John Keating, Fairmont St Andrews

Andre Mannini, M Restaurants, London

Adam Rowledge, Georgian House, London

Laura Sharpe, Ham Yard hotel, London


Newcomer Award, sponsored by William Grant & Sons

Michael Caines, Lympstone Manor Hotel, Devon

Mark Birchall, Moor Hall, Lancashire

Alan and Angela Harper, Palé Hall Hotel, Gwynedd

Aaron Webster and Remi Williams, Smoke & Salt, London


Pub and Bar Award, sponsored by Britvic

Peter Borg-Neal, Oakman Inns

Josh Eggleton, The Pony & Trap, Bristol

Chris Galvin, Galvin Green Man, Essex


Public Sector Caterer Award, sponsored by Premier Foods

Brad Pearce, CATERed

Neel Radia, National Association of Care Catering

Matthew White, The University of Reading and The University Caterers Organisation


Restaurateur of the Year – Group, sponsored by Bunzl Catering and Hospitality Division

Will Beckett and Huw Gott, Hawksmoor

Des Gunewardena and David Loewi, D&D London

Pranee Laurillard, Giggling Squid

Shamil Thakrar and Kavi Thakrar, Dishoom


Restaurateur of the Year – Independent, sponsored by OpenTable

Richard Corrigan, Corrigan Collection

Michael Deane, Deanes Belfast

Josh Eggleton, The Pony & Trap, Bristol

Andrew Pern, Star Inn, Harome, Yorkshire


Sustainable Business Award, sponsored by Lightspeed

Bartlett Mitchell

Fairmont St Andrews

Llangoed Hall, Powys

The University of Manchester


Wine and Spirit Ambassador Award, sponsored by Searcys

Andrew McKenzie, The Vineyard, Stockcross

Christine Parkinson, Hakkasan

Laure Patry, The Social Company


There is no shortlist for the International Outstanding Achievement Award, the Special Award, sponsored by Johnsons Stalbridge, and the Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by Berkeley Scott.