Innovate Blog
Bunzl Catering Supplies sponsor award category at the Hotel Cateys 2018

Monday October 8, 2018

On Friday 23 October 2018, Bunzl Catering Supplies will be sponsoring the Hotel Chef of the Year (fewer than 250 covers) award category at the Hotel Cateys 2018. Since their launch in 2007, the Hotel Cateys have celebrated the most successful hotels, hoteliers and hotel employees across the UK.

The Hotel Cateys were created to recognise and reward those individuals and teams that work tirelessly to make sure their business delivers an exceptional guest experience, day in, day out.

Guests visit a hotel for a number of reasons. But they return thanks to a warm welcome, great food and a good night’s sleep. It falls to hotel professionals to meet customers’ needs and make sure they keep coming back time after time.

Nearly 70 judges, selected for their expertise and industry knowledge, met in September for two days of vigorous debate and discussion to select shortlists in 15 out of 18 categories from a total of 220 nominations.

The winners will remain a closely guarded secret until they are announced at a celebratory dinner on 23 November at London’s Park Plaza Westminster Bridge hotel.

Hotel Cateys 2018 shortlist

Concierge Award

  • John Andrews, the Goring, London
  • Zaneta Kalinaite, InterContinental London Park Lane
  • Jack McCarthy, formerly at the Cavendish London
  • Dan McCaskie, Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living

Conference and Banqueting Team of the Year

  • De Vere Beaumont Estate, Old Windsor, Bershire
  • Royal Lancaster London
  • Pancras Renaissance Hotel, London
  • Whittlebury Hall & Spa, Towcester, Northamptonshire

Food and Beverage Manager of the Year

  • Alice Bussi, Seren Collection, Pembrokeshire and Swansea
  • Konstantinos Georgis, Hilton London Heathrow
  • Niels Kristensen, the Ned, London

Front of House Manager of the Year

  • Raul Deflorian, 45 Park Lane, London
  • Bryony Madge, Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living, London
  • Xiaomin Sun, Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa

Front of House Team of the Year

  • The Cavendish London
  • Hilton London Bankside
  • Hotel Football, Manchester
  • The Ritz London
  • Southampton Harbour Hotel

Hotel Chef of the Year (fewer than 250 covers)

  • George Blogg, Gravetye Manor, near East Grinstead, West Sussex
  • Lisa Goodwin-Allen, Northcote, Langho, Lancashire
  • Luke Holder, Lime Wood, Lyndhurst, Hampshire
  • Niall Keating, Whatley Manor, Malmesbury, Wiltshire
  • Adam Smith, Coworth Park, Ascot, Berkshire

Hotel Chef of the Year (more than 250 covers)

  • Robert Bates, the Belfry, Sutton Coldfield
  • Paul Bates, Hilton London Bankside
  • Calum Franklin, Holborn Dining Room, Rosewood London
  • Zoltan Szabo, Principal Blythswood Square, Glasgow

Hotel Restaurant Manager of the Year

  • Julien Foussadier, Holborn Dining Room, Rosewood London
  • Devid Isabella, the Goring, London
  • Tomas Klima, The Jetty, Southampton Harbour Hotel
  • Leni Miras, the Colony Grill Room at the Beaumont, London

Hotel Restaurant Team of the Year

  • Flemings Mayfair, London
  • Glenapp Castle, Ballantrae, Ayrshire
  • Holborn Dining Room, Rosewood London
  • Lucknam Park Hotel & Spa, Colerne, Wiltshire

Housekeeper of the Year

  • Fernanda Lewis, the Goring, London
  • Tzveta Peneva-Ivanova, Milestone Hotel and Residences, London
  • Michelle Ramage, Borthwick Castle, North Middleton, Midlothian
  • Sudeepta Saha, Park Plaza County Hall London

Human Resources Manager of the Year

  • James Goulding, PPHE Hotel Group
  • Di Gwinnell, SACO (the Serviced Apartment Company)
  • Lindsay Southward, Malmaison & Hotel Du Vin Hotel Group

Human Resources Team of the Year

  • Farncombe Estate (Dormy House, Foxhill Manor & the Fish), Broadway, Worcestershire
  • Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park London
  • The Ned, London
  • St Pancras Renaissance Hotel London

Revenue Award

  • Amy Ayers, Holiday Inn Winchester
  • Morgane Bimet, Hilton London Bankside
  • Irene Micallef, the London Edition
  • Anaël Peu, Kew Green Hotels
  • Yash Taneja, Crowne Plaza London Docklands

Spa Professional of the Year

  • Lesley Bacon, Hand Picked Hotels
  • Zoe Douglas, Dormy House Hotel, Broadway, Worcestershire
  • Darren Dixon, Pennyhill Park, Bagshot, Surrey
  • Helena Grzesk, the Midland, Manchester

Sustainable Hotel of the Year

  • Cedar Manor Hotel, Windermere, Cumbria
  • Idle Rocks, St Mawes, Cornwall
  • Lancaster London
  • Palé Hall, Llandderfel, Gwynedd

Shortlists are not revealed for the Hotelier of the Year, while nominations are still open for entry in the Outstanding Contribution and Extra Mile categories.